Delete List Item Permission Assigment

delete.gif

This action deletes all roles assigned to a user on item, breaking list permission inheritance if necessary.

Last edited Jul 13, 2007 at 5:42 PM by unclepaul84, version 3

Comments

Vinayakkumar88 Mar 6 at 10:17 AM 
We have two way approval workflow

As a first level approver, user wanted to view the travel request even after approving the item.

At present, once the request is approved in level 1 and moved to level 2, the level 1 approver is not able to view the item since the permission is revoked as per the workflow.

highlandgirl5 Oct 14, 2010 at 4:34 PM 
Hi, I'm getting errors using this activity with a valid principalName that was not previously on the item's permissions. Basically, if i remove a permission that was there, it's fine. But if i try to remove a permission that wasn't there, it makes the workflow choke. Anyway to beef up the error handling on this method?

tosamar May 18, 2010 at 4:38 PM 
hi all i am unable to add this action, I can create send email but not Delete Permission assignment or Grante Permission
Any ideas?

awolski Nov 20, 2009 at 1:53 PM 
Feature Request:

Delete permission assignment in *this item* for >everybody exept< *this user*

MargaretZ42 Aug 11, 2007 at 1:37 PM 
This activity, used with teh Grant Permission activity, could be very helpful. One problem: this does not behave the same with Content Approval as does managing permissions manually. If I have an approved document and set the permissions manually, it does not affect the approved status of the document and does not update version history. But if I use this activity in a document where the content approval is set to "Approved", then when the workflow completes, I find the document was set back to "Draft" and a minor version created. Note, this happens even if the "Set permissions" step (where I use this activity) is defined to occur BEFORE setting the content approval to Approved. It also happens if I use "Delete List Item Permission Assignment" only. (I was running the workflow under an unaffected role).

I think that since the manual "Manage Permissions" does not create a version or change the content approval status, then this activity should not do that.